Designed for learning

learning – teaching – research – design – technology

beware of JamMo!

Last week at CAL I heard Lorna McKnight talk about JamMo. It sounded interesting, so I instinctively went to their download page and followed the instructions.

Big mistake.

The installation packages are enormous. They clogged up my system, then failed in mid-installation, leaving my poor little Ubuntu unusable. It took me a week until I realised there’s no avoiding root shell access (well, to be honest – I was walking in the Peak District most of it). Today I dived in, removed the jammo packages, removed its repository from the sources list, and rebooted. Haaaa. Nice to see that familiar screen again.

Now all I need to figure out is why my windows has gone blue-screen-of-death.

April 29, 2011 - Posted by | technology

2 Comments »

  1. Hi, a colleague forwarded me on to your blog — yikes that sounds terrible, I’m so sorry! I haven’t had any problems like this when testing on different systems, can you let me know what hardware/OS you’re using, and if at all possible any error messages you saw during the failed installation, so I can pass this on to the development team and hopefully sort out the problem? The link to my work page above has a link to my email address, please do contact me, or if you are at the IoE we have colleagues there also on the project who I’m sure would love to get your feedback. All the best, Lorna.

    Comment by Lorna | April 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Lorna,

      thanks for the quick response.
      I’m using a Dell Latitude E5500, running Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (Lucid Lynx).
      Unfortunately I don’t have a record of the error messages, but my disk was pretty full when I started – perhaps if you try to install on a system with insufficient disk space you can recreate the problem.
      I used to be at the IOE, now I’m at the University of Haifa. If you have anyone willing to give a demo there I’d be happy to invite them to my mobile learning course! 🙂

      Comment by yishaym | April 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment