Designed for learning

learning – teaching – research – design – technology

beware of JamMo!

Last week at CAL I heard Lorna McKnight talk about JamMo. It sounded interesting, so I instinctively went to their download page and followed the instructions.

Big mistake.

The installation packages are enormous. They clogged up my system, then failed in mid-installation, leaving my poor little Ubuntu unusable. It took me a week until I realised there’s no avoiding root shell access (well, to be honest – I was walking in the Peak District most of it). Today I dived in, removed the jammo packages, removed its repository from the sources list, and rebooted. Haaaa. Nice to see that familiar screen again.

Now all I need to figure out is why my windows has gone blue-screen-of-death.

April 29, 2011 Posted by | technology | 2 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,635 other followers